Studying Aboard

Why the Edith Cowan University?

At a glance

  • Edith Cowan University (ECU) is an Australian public university located in Perth, Western Australia. It was named after the first woman to be elected to an Australian Parliament, Edith Cowan, and is the only Australian university named after a woman.
  • ECU is situated in Western Australia, with more than 30,000 students at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, approximately 6,000 international students originating from over 100 countries outside Australia.
  • ECU was granted university status in 1991 and was formed from an amalgamation of teachers’ colleges with a history dating back to 1902 when the Claremont Teachers College was established, making ECU the modern descendant of the first institution of higher education in Western Australia.

Our Campus

  • There are three campuses at ECU – two are within easy reach of the city of Perth, and one is south of Perth in the fabulous South West region, a mecca for wine, surf and wildlife. All campuses have student accommodation with modern facilities, including swimming pools, access to a gym and sports activities.
  • Our Joondalup Campus is one of Australia’s most attractive campuses, with award-winning architecture and extensive gardens brimming with Australian native trees. It even has a lake and an outdoor cinema! Here, you can study medical science, nursing, engineering, computer science, business and law.
  • The Mount Lawley Campus is closer to Perth CBD and is the creative heart of ECU, including the home of the world-renowned Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts. Here, you can study courses in arts and humanities, including media, design, psychology and social science, and teacher education and performing arts like acting, music and dance.
  • ECU’s South West Campus is in Bunbury, 200km from the capital, and is a leafy campus surrounded by nature. Here, students can study courses in nursing, education, business, science and health sciences. They also enjoy smaller class sizes.
  • Plans are underway to build a new city campus in central Perth, opening to students from 2025. This exciting development will be the new location for studies in creative industries, performing arts, business and technology.

Let’s explore!


Our faculty

ECU’s teaching and research are delivered through eight schools, reflecting the diversity of disciplines offered to students and staff. These are:

  • Arts & Humanities
  • Business & Law
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Medical & Health Sciences
  • Nursing & Midwifery
  • Science
  • Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts

Some of our more highly ranked disciplines (globally or nationally) include sports science, nursing, cybersecurity, creative arts, engineering and teacher education.



  1. Joondalup Campus: Our Joondalup Campus is located 25km from the Perth CBD and is close to rail transport and Perth’s major freeway.
  2. Mount Lawley Campus: Our Mount Lawley Campus is only minutes from Perth’s CBD, located at Alexander Drive and Central Avenue. The campus also forms part of a precinct with the Mount Lawley Senior High School. In addition, it is home to the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts, one of Australia’s most successful and well-known arts training institutions.
  3. South West Campus: Our South West Campus (Bunbury) is situated off Robertson Drive, 5km from the Bunbury CBD. The campus is part of an educational precinct comprising the South West Regional College of TAFE and the Bunbury Health Campus, including St John of God Hospital and South West Area Health Services.


Australia Universities

Special Go


因應智慧城市趨勢發展, 全球關注的淨零減碳工作刻不容緩, 互聯網將科技緊緊聯繫著我們, 跨洋過海, 即將到來的2023台北高雄「智慧城市展」吸引國際智慧城市前來參訪, 台灣是科技島, 世界正在看台灣。我們特別邀請澳洲昆士蘭商務局Trade & Investment Queensland, 於2023年3月27日, 參與【昆士蘭之夜】與台灣能源、關鍵材料及農業科技GTI們一同切磋及用餐, 引領盼望, 交流連結! 此次昆士蘭之夜我們很榮幸邀請到Bundaberg市長 John Dempsey, Scenic Rim市長 Gregory Christensen, Gladstone市長 Matt Burnett, 及Redlands副市長 Julie Talty一起共進晚宴…more

慶祝AMEC 20週年 透過我們報名享北中南考點 雅思考試 NT$ 500元折扣碼*  再透過我們申請大學課程成功註冊, 加碼送藍芽揚聲器*