Studying Aboard

University of Adelaide

Why the University of Adelaide?

At a glance

The University of Adelaide (informally Adelaide University) is a public research university located in Adelaide, South Australia. Established in 1874, it is the third-oldest university in Australia. The university’s main campus is located on North Terrace in the Adelaide city centre, adjacent to the Art Gallery of South Australia, the South Australian Museum and the State Library of South Australia.

Let’s explore the campus!

  • The University of Adelaide is composed of five faculties, with each containing constituent schools. These include the Faculty of Engineering, Computer, and Mathematical Sciences (ECMS), the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of the Professions, and the Faculty of Sciences. It is a member of the Group of Eight and the Association of Commonwealth Universities. The university is also a member of the Sandstone universities, consisting of colonial-era universities within Australia.
  • The university is associated with five Nobel laureates, constituting one-third of Australia’s total Nobel Laureates and 110 Rhodes scholars. The university has had a considerable impact on the public life of South Australia, having educated many of the state’s leading businesspeople, lawyers, medical professionals and politicians. The university has been associated with many notable achievements and discoveries, such as the discovery and development of penicillin, space exploration, sunscreen, the military tank, Wi-Fi, polymer banknotes and X-ray crystallography, and the study of viticulture and oenology.


Pathways to Adelaide University

  1. Higher Education Study
  2. Work and life experience
  3. University Preparatory Program
  4. Vocational Education and Training (VET) Study
  5. Undergraduate
  6. Postgraduate
  7. International students
  8. Adult entry / non-school leaver

Study Options



  • The university has four campuses in South Australia: North Terrace campus in the city, Roseworthy campus at Roseworthy and Waite campus at Urrbrae, and one in Melbourne, Victoria.
  • The university also operates out of other areas such as Thebarton, the National Wine Centre in the Adelaide Park Lands, and Singapore through the Ngee Ann-Adelaide Education Centre.


Australia Universities

Special Go
GTI 4 Visa Must Know